Monday, October 18, 2010

The Waiting by Suzanne Woods Fisher

 77090629 Book 2 in The Lancaster Secrets collection and hot on the heals of the best-selling The Choice, The Waiting, a stand alone story, is a compelling page turner. Jorie King has been waiting for Benjamin Zook to return home to Lancaster County so they can marry. When news arrives that Ben has been killed, Jorie finds comfort in the friendship of his brother Caleb. That friendship ripens into love, and it seems that they are meant to be together. But when the unexpected happens, their worlds are turned upside down once more. Will Jorie trust God to lead her into the arms of a new man?

A multifaceted story about complex people living the simple life. Readers will find themselves transported into the world of the Amish and deeply invested in these wonderful characters.

SWF headshot2 Suzanne Woods Fisher is the CBA bestselling author of The Choice, The Waiting, Amish Peace, and Amish Proverbs. Her interest in the Anabaptist cultures can be directly traced to her grandfather, W. D. Benedict, who was raised in the Old Order German Baptist Brethren Church in Franklin County, Pennsylvania. Benedict eventually became publisher of Christianity Today magazine. Suzanne is the host of a radio show called Amish Wisdom and her work has appeared in many magazines. She lives in California. Find out more about Suzanne at

Heidi Says . . . I very much enjoyed this book.  As I said when I reviewed the first book in this series (The Choice) – I like the way Suzanne approaches Amish fiction.  Her books are not so weighed down with tradition (which I’m pretty pick about because I live in an area where we are surrounded by the Amish); but, rather, they tell a good story that is compelling and fun to read.  I appreciate that!

I would definitely recommend both The Choice and The Waiting (which both work fine as stand-alones), and I’ll anxiously await the release of Book 3 in the series – The Search

If you would like to purchase The Choice, click here.  To read what others have to say about The Choice and to follow this blog tour (which runs through October 28th) click here


Suzanne Woods Fisher is thrilled to announce the release of The Waiting, book two in The Lancaster Secrets Collection. In The Waiting Jorie finds herself caught be two loves and two lives in this compelling page turner about complex people living the simple life.
The Waiting is the next stand alone story in The Lancaster Secrets Collection and follows in the footsteps of the best-selling, The Choice. The Waiting is in stores now and to celebrate Suzanne is hosting The Waiting KINDLE Giveaway.
One Grand Prize winner will receive a Kindle preloaded with Suzanne Woods Fisher titles and a gift certificate! The Prize Pack (valued at over $185.00) includes:
* A brand new KINDLE, Free 3G, 6", Latest Generation * The Choice by Suzanne Woods Fisher * The Waiting by Suzanne Woods Fisher * A $15 dollar Gift Certificate
To enter, simply click on the icons below to fill out the entry form, then tell 5 or more friends about the contest. Oh, and enter soon! Winner will be announced on October 28th at Suzanne's Lancaster Secrets Book Club Party.


NOTE: I received a free copy of this book in exchange for my honest review of it.  This review is part of a LitFuse Blog Tour.

1 comment:

Suzanne said...

Hi Heidi!
I'm a little late getting to your blog...I was out of town helping my daughter last week with her new baby, and am at my publisher's right now. But I had a few minutes to spare and wanted to thank you for your review of "The Waiting." Thrilled you want to read more! "The Search" is coming in about 6-7 weeks!
Thanks for being a part of the tour, too.
Warmly, Suzanne Woods Fisher

Related Posts with Thumbnails