Wednesday, April 14, 2010

Wright on Time books by Lisa M. Cottrell-Bentley

I am always looking for new books to keep my 9-year-old daughter Gracie busy.  I love series, because she’s such an avid reader and they keep her busy longer!  Some of the series that she’s especially enjoyed over the years have been the Magic Tree House books and the Carole Marsh Mysteries. 

When I heard about a new series of books by Lisa M. Cottrell-Bentley, I was excited.  This series is based on the United States – one book per state – which means there will eventually be 50 books in the series!  The books are written by a homeschool mom – and they’re about a homeschool family!  That appeals to us as homeschoolers. 

From the website: “The Wright on Time series of children’s chapter books are about an RV-living family who travels the USA. Each book is set in a different state with a different fun and educational theme. It’s like taking your child on a wonderous road trip across the USA powered by the imagination! You can pick up any book in the series and enjoy it fully without having read others in the series. Of course, if you want to know the complete story of the Wright family’s adventures, you are going to want to read the other books!”

The two books in the series that we received to review were Wright in Time: Arizona and Wright in Time: UtahHere’s a bit about each book ---

wot1_cover-2 Explore a desert cave with the Wright family as they begin their 50 state RV roadschool tour of the USA. What will Aidan & Nadia discover? Bats? Minerals? A mysterious device? This is where the fun begins!

ISBN: 0-9824829-0-6
ISBN-13: 978-0-9824829-0-2
LCCN: 2009928001
100 pages, 5.25" x 8", paperback
Children's Chapter Book, Ages 5-12+

Price: $12.99

wot2_cover Join Nadia and Aidan as they continue their adventures in Wright on Time: UTAH, Book 2. The Wrights have joined a dinosaur dig searching for allosaurus bones. Will they find any and what will they learn about that mysterious device?

ISBN: 0-9824829-1-4
ISBN-13: 978-0-9824829-1-9
LCCN: 2009939034
102 pages, 5.25" x 8", paperback
Children's Chapter Book, Ages 5-12+

Price: $12.99

About the author: Lisa M. Cottrell-Bentley has been writing since she was a child, winning her first writing contest at age 9. Lisa and her daughters spent many hours searching for children’s books about homeschoolers, but found very few. So, they decided to create their own. As they discussed their dream storylines, the Wright on Time series took shape. Beginning in their native southwest, the Wright family intends to take readers on a fun road trip that explores the entire USA!

I love the Wright in Time website!  I enjoyed reading the FAQ section, and was thrilled to see that you can get lapbooks to go along with the books.  This is something that I’m sure other homeschool moms will appreciate as well!  If you have visual learners, or you plan on reading these books aloud to your child(ren), then the Flat Kids would be a nice addition. Kids will enjoy the Games page (which includes online puzzles and printable crosswords and word searches).

I received these books as part of a blog tour for
Parent Reviewers.

No comments:

Related Posts with Thumbnails